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REAL ESTATE CORPORATION, PARTNERSHIP, AND LLC REQUIREMENTS 
For those seeking to change the status of your individual Broker’s license to a Corporate Broker 
license, new or existing, or have formed a Partnership or Limited Liability Company (LLC), please 
submit the following: 

• A completed Corporate Broker Application.

• A $10.00 application fee; check or money order made payable to the Rhode Island General
Treasurer.

• A copy of the Minutes of the Meeting of Officers, designating the principal broker of the
Corporation, Partnership, or Limited Liability Company.

• A copy of the Articles of Incorporation from the Rhode Island Secretary of State’s Office.
If it is not a Rhode Island Corporation, Partnership, or Limited Liability Company; please
submit the Articles of Incorporation or Filing Registration from the state where
incorporated, filed, or registered.

• A Certificate of Errors and Omissions Insurance.

• A Criminal History Record from the Rhode Island Department of the Attorney General’s
Office (See attached instructions). Non-Residents must also submit a CHR from their
home state law enforcement agency as well.

• A Tax Payer Status Affidavit (See attached).

• A list of all Rhode Island licensed salespersons and brokers of the corporation.

• A Transfer of License Form for each Broker/Salesperson who will be transferred to the new
corporation.  Be sure to include an Errors and Omissions Insurance Certificate for each
licensee, along with a $25.00 check made payable to the Rhode Island General Treasurer.

• A completed Corporate Power of Attorney Form (Non-residents only).

• A Certificate of Licensure/Letter of Good Standing for non-residents only, who currently
hold a Rhode Island Broker’s license, applying as a Principal Broker of a Corporation,
Partnership, or Limited Liability Company, from their state licensing authority, bearing
their name as a principal broker, in addition to the name of the Corporation, Partnership, or
Limited Liability Company.
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CRIMINAL HISTORY RECORD SUBMISSION REQUIREMENTS 

FOR BROKER AND SALESPERSON APPLICANTS 

A Criminal History Record (“CHR”) must be submitted to the Real Estate Section of the 
Department of Business Regulation (“DBR”), Division of Commercial Licensing with each 
Real Estate Application.  Processing applications is contingent upon the complete disposition, or 
results of any charges delineated or resolved prior to application submission.  See instructions 
below to learn how to obtain your CHR.   

INSTRUCTIONS 

Applying in Person:  A Criminal History Record may be obtained by visiting the Bureau of 
Criminal Identification at the Rhode Island Department of Attorney General (“DAG”).  To apply 
for a CHR in this manner, bring a picture-identification, showing your date of birth. 

Applying by Mail:  To apply by mail, send a notarized copy of a photo ID, showing your date of 
birth, and a signed/notarized letter, giving permission to the DAG to conduct a background 
investigation, along with a self-addressed stamped envelope. 

Mail to: Department of the Attorney General 
4 Howard Avenue 
Cranston, Rhode Island, 02920 

Hours of operation are 8:30 am to 4:30 pm. 

The cost for a CHR, whether applying in person or by mail, is five dollars ($5.00), and is payable 
by check or money order to the “BCI”.  Please allow time for the DAG to process and generate 
your request.  For further questions about this process, you may contact the DAG at (401) 274-
4400. 

If you reside in another state, supply a CHR from your home state, as well as one from 
Rhode Island. 
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CORPORATE BROKER APPLICATION 
Please print or type. All incomplete applications will be returned. Please allow 7-10 days for processing. 

Indicate type of Entity:  □  Corporation  □  Partnership  □  Limited Liability Company (LLC)

1. Name of Entity:

2. Business Address: City / Town State Zip Code 

3. Telephone Number: 4. Email Address:

5. Name of Principal Broker: 6. Principal Broker’s Rhode Island License #:

7. Organization Date: 8. State of Organization:

9. Business for which Entity was formed:

10. What percentage of business time is intended to be devoted to the Real Estate business?  __________ %

11. List the following for the Principal Broker, each Partner, Officer, or Member etc.:

  Name  Title  Resident/Citizen    RI License # 

State of Rhode Island
Department of Business Regulation
Division of Commercial Licensing

Real Estate Section
1511 Pontiac Ave, Bldg. 69-1

Cranston, RI 02920
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12. Has applicant or Principal Broker ever been refused a Real Estate Broker or Salesperson license in this
state or any other state?                                                                   Yes      No   

13. Has any licensee listed under item 11 ever had a license suspended or revoked in Rhode Island or any other
state?                                                                                                Yes      No   

14. Has applicant or Principal Broker been charged or found guilty of any misconduct or irregularities in the
performance of his/her duties, or been charged with misappropriating monies of others or withholding such
monies, at any time, by any form, corporation, etc., or is now under indictment in this or any other state?

Yes      No   

 IF YOU ANSWERED “YES” TO QUESTIONS 12 - 14, 
 ATTACH A FULL EXPLANATION. 

15. R.I.G.L requires recommendations of three (3) United States citizens who have known the applicant for at
least three (3) years and are not related to the applicant, and will attest that the applicant bears a good reputation
for honesty and trustworthiness, and will recommend that a Corporate Real Estate Broker’s license be granted
to the applicant.

Name: __________________________________ 
(Print) 

Address:  ___________________________________ 
    _________________________________________ 

Name: __________________________________ 
(Print)            

Address:  ___________________________________ 
    _________________________________________ 

Name: __________________________________ 
(Print) 

Address:  ___________________________________ 
    _________________________________________ 

STATEMENT OF APPLICANT 

I, the undersigned, swear under penalty of perjury, that the information provided in connection with this 
application is true to the best of my knowledge, with the understanding that any omissions, inaccuracies or 
failure to make full disclosures may be deemed sufficient reason to deny licensure as a Corporate Real Estate 
Broker by the Rhode Island Department of Business Regulation. 

Signature ___________________________________ Date _______________________ 
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 Tax Payer Status Affidavit / Identity Verification 

All persons applying or renewing any license, registration, permit or other authority (hereinafter 
called “licensee”) to conduct a business or occupation in the state of Rhode Island are required to 
file all applicable tax returns and pay all taxes owed to the state prior to receiving a license as 
mandated by state law (RIGL 5-76) except as noted below. 

In order to verify that the state is not owed taxes, licensees are required to provide their Social 
Security Number and Federal Tax Identification Number as appropriate.  These numbers will be 
transmitted to the Division of Taxation to verify tax status prior to the issuance of a license.  This 
declaration must be made prior to the issuance of a license. 

Licensee Declaration 
□ I hereby declare, under penalty of perjury, that I have filed all required state tax returns and have paid all taxes
owed.

□ I have entered a written installment agreement to pay delinquent taxes that is satisfactory to the Tax
Administrator.

□ I am currently pursuing administrative review of taxes owed to the state.

□ I am in federal bankruptcy. (Case #  ) 

□ I am in state receivership. (Case #    ) 

□ I have been discharged from Bankruptcy. (Case #    ) 

Full Name (Please Print or Type)  Social Security Number (or FEIN for Business) 

Signature Date 
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CORPORATE POWER OF ATTORNEY 

Let it be known that, _______________________________________________, a corporation 
(Name of Corporation) 

created by and duly organized under the laws of the State of _______________________, and 

located in the city of  ___________________ in the State of _________________________, 

having applied to be licensed as a non-resident corporate real estate broker in the State of Rhode 

Island, do hereby irrevocably appoint the Director of the Department of Business Regulation, his 

successor or successors, as my lawful attorney, upon whom all lawful process in any action or 

legal proceeding against me may be served in like manner and with the same legal force and 

effect as if I had been lawfully served with said process.  As such, I do hereby authorize said 

attorney to receive and accept service of process, pursuant to the provisions of Title 5, Chapter 

20.5-10(d), of the General Laws of Rhode Island, as amended.  

Name of Corporation:  ___________________________________       {CORPORATE SEAL} 

Signature of Officer:    ___________________________________   

Designation of Officer: ___________________________    Date: _____________________ 

Subscribed and sworn to before the undersigned authority in the State of __________________, 

in the County of ________________________, on this __________, day of _______________, 

20_______.  

  _____________________________________________ 
Notary Public 

 My Commission Expires:  ________________________. 

State of Rhode Island
Department of Business Regulation
Division of Commercial Licensing

Real Estate Section
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TRANSFER OF REAL ESTATE BROKER OR SALESPERSON LICENSE 
Please submit the following with this completed form.  All incomplete submissions will be returned. 
● A Certificate of Errors and Omissions Insurance.
● A check or money order for $25 made payable to the Rhode Island General Treasurer.

I, ___________________________________________, ______________________, of 
  (Name)  (License Number) 

____________________________________________,  ____________________________, __________________, 
(Home Address)          (City)   (State) 

_____________________, ___________________________________, __________________________________________________________,  
 (Zip Code)         (Phone Number) (Email Address) 

request the transfer of my license from  ____________________________________________ to  
(Current Agency Name) 

_________________________________________________. 
   (New Agency Name) 

__________________________________________________  _________________________________ 
  (Signature of Salesperson or Broker) (Date of Transfer) 

    STATEMENT OF NEW EMPLOYING BROKER 

I, the undersigned, being a licensed real estate broker of the State of Rhode Island, certify that 

___________________________________, will be associated with/ employed by this agency.
(Licensee’s Name - Print) 

_____________________________________________,    _______________________________________________, 
(Agency Name)     (Agency Address) 

______________________________,   _______________,  ____________________,  _________________________. 
 (City)   (State)          (Zip Code)      (Phone Number) 

I, _______________________________________,  ____________________ affirm that the statements 
(Principal Broker – Print)    (License Number) 

contained herewith are true. 
______________________________________ 

(Signature of Principal Broker) 

State of Rhode Island
Department of Business Regulation
Division of Commercial Licensing

Real Estate Section
1511 Pontiac Ave, Bldg. 69-1

Cranston, RI 02920
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