; RHODE ISLAND DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT

OFFICE OF LAND REVITALIZATION AND SUSTAINABLE MIATERIALS MANAGEMENT
235 Promenade Street, Room 380

v Providence, Rhode Island 02908

2020-2021 SEPTAGE WASTE TRANSPORTER PERMIT APPLICATION
READ THE ENTIRE APPLICATION CAREFULLY!!

March 3, 2020
Dear Septage Waste Transporter:

Enclosed is your application to apply for/renew a permit to transport SEPTAGE WASTE through and within the
state of Rhode Island for the permit period ending June 30, 2021. Please complete and return these forms to the
following address:

Alyson Brunelli

Office of Waste Management

Dept of Environmental Management

235 Promenade Street

Providence, RI 02908

Do not submit the application and attachments in a binder. Allow three (3) to five (5) weeks for processing. If
there are deficiencies in the application, the Department will contact you via email, or phone call. You will be
contacted when the application is approved and should contact this office if you do not hear from us by the end of
the 5 weeks processing period.

Renewal applications for the new fiscal year are due May 1, 2020.
INSPECTIONS

The Department has implemented a COMPANY-CERTIFIED self-inspection program, thus eliminating the need
for RIDEM staff inspections. Each company is required to list designated company inspectors who will perform
inspections and attest to the accuracy of each inspection. A checklist for a unit inspection is attached. Please
make copies of this form and submit one checklist for each unit you wish to permit. Each checklist submitted to
this office must contain the signature of a designated inspector and these forms will be used as legal documents in
the event of an enforcement action against the company. The Department will continue to perform random,
unannounced vehicle inspections. Companies must maintain strict compliance with the requirements at all times.
Units found to be deficient upon inspection are subject to administrative penalties.

Upon approval of a company's application, stickers will be issued for the specific units for which a checklist and
a $100 per unit fee has been submitted. These stickers are NOT TRANSFERRABLE and are to be placed on
the driver's side of the permitted unit.

CONTINGENCY PLANS

All septic transporters are required to submit an emergency contingency plan in accordance with Rule 6.4 of the
Hazardous Waste Regulations. This plan must be updated when any changes occur. This contingency plan
must be on each vehicle at all times.



FEES

A fee of $100.00 (made payable to the General Treasurer State of Rhode Island) must be submitted to the Office
of Management Services, per the attached remittal form, at the time the application is submitted. This will be
credited to the cost of the first unit. You must submit $100 for each additional unit to be permitted. No stickers
will be issued until payment is received.

(Note: If the units are separate, the cost to permit one tractor is $100, and the trailer is an additional $100. These
are two (2) units and two (2) checklists that should be submitted.)

APPLICATIONS AND PAYMENT MUST BE SENT TO THE OFFICE OF MANAGEMENT
SERVICES. THE DEPARTMENT’S PROCEDURES PROHIBIT THE OFFICE OF WASTE
MANAGEMENT FROM PROCESSING ANY APPLICATIONS OR ISSUING DECALS UNTIL
PAYMENT HAS BEEN PROCESSED BY THE OFFICE OF MANAGEMENT SERVICES.

All additional fees for vehicles added after the initial renewal period must be accompanied by the Check Remittal
Form (page 9) included and submitted to the Office of Management Services. Each additional vehicle must also
be accompanied by a vehicle inspection checklist (page 10).

All correspondences should be addressed to Alyson Brunelli at (401) 222-2797 (ext. 7134), or
alyson.brunelli@dem.ri.gov.

Sincerely,
(o Bl

Alyson Brunelli, Environmental Engineer
Office of Waste Management

Department of Environmental Management
235 Promenade St Suite 380

Providence, RI 02908



RHODE ISLAND DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT
OFFICE OF WASTE MANAGEMENT

235 Promenade Street, Room 380
@ Providence, Rhode Island 02908
2020-2021 SEPTAGE WASTE TRANSPORTER PERMIT APPLICATION

PERMIT #RI -

1. COMPANY NAME:

MAILING ADDRESS:

CITY STATE ___ ZIP:

PHONE

LOCATION (IF DIFFERENT):

CITY STATE ___ ZIP:

2. OWNER:

3. COMPANY EMERGENCY CONTACT (if different):

PHONE ( )

4. COMPANY REGULATORY CONTACT

PHONE ( )

EMAIL

5. INSURANCE INFORMATION:

INSURANCE COMPANY:
POLICY # EXPIRATION DATE :
6. IS THIS IS A RENEWAL APPLICATION? YES NO

If yes, have you made changes to:
The company's contingency plan?  Yes No

your insurance policy? Yes No

If yes, you must submit the updated information with this application.



7. LIST ALL POTWs (Sewer treatment plants) USED BY YOUR COMPANY:

POTW LOCATION CONTACT

8. DESIGNATED COMPANY INSPECTORS:

The following personnel are authorized by

(company name)
to perform vehicle inspections in accordance with the requirements of The Rhode Island Rules and Regulations for
Hazardous Waste Management found on the Secretary of States Website 250-RICR-140-10-1:

EMPLOYEE NAME (printed) EMPLOYEE SIGNATURE"

" Designated employees must sign this form to signify their acceptance of this responsibility.



9. DESIGNATED DRIVERS:
The following personnel are designated as drivers for your company:

EMPLOYEE COMMERCIAL Date of EXPIRATION
NAME (printed) DRIVERS LICENSE # Birth DATE




10. LIST STORAGE LOCATIONS WHERE VEHICLES ARE KEPT OVERNIGHT (OTHER THAN
THOSE LISTED ON PAGE 1 OF THE APPLICATION).

ADDRESS CITY STATE




11. THIS APPLICATION MUST BE ACCOMPANIED BY THE FOLLOWING:

a)

b)

12. 1

FEE: An application fee of one hundred dollars ($100), must be submitted to the Office of
Management Services, accompanied by the enclosed remittal form. The address for the Office of
Management Services is located on the remittal form. The check must be made payable to the
General Treasurer, State of Rhode Island. This application fee will be credited to one unit listed on
the application. An additional one hundred dollars ($100) per unit will be required for each
additional unit (a tractor is one unit a trailer is one unit). All fees must be accompanied by the
remittal form and paid before a sticker is issued.

INSURANCE: An original (not photocopy or carbon copy) certificate of liability insurance issued
in the name of the Office of Waste Management, Department of Environmental Management in
the amount of at least three hundred thousand dollars ($300,000).

SPILL PLAN: The company must submit for review and approval, a description of the procedures
to be employed by the transporter, pursuant to Rule 6.10 of the Regulations, in response to spills or
other emergency situations that could arise during transporting operations. Specific reference must
be made to:

1) Type and location of emergency equipment on vehicles.

2) The drivers’ emergency response instructions including:

1) Instructions to notify the RIDEM at (401) 222-2797 (daytime) or (401) 222-3070

(24-hour).
i) The name and phone # of an emergency spill clean-up company.
ii1) Procedures for spill containment.

» AM FAMILIAR WITH THE

(print name)

SEPTAGE WASTE TRANSPORTER PERMIT RULES AND REGULATIONS AND CERTIFY THAT
ALL ENTRIES ON THIS APPLICATION ARE TRUE AND CORRECT.

SIGNATURE

DATE

TITLE



RHODE ISLAND DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL MIANAGEMENT

‘l OFFICE OF WASTE MANAGEMENT
235 Promenade Street, Room 380

v Providence, Rhode Island 02908

INSPECTION INSTRUCTIONS

ATTENTION ALL HAZARDOUS WASTE/SEPTAGE TRANSPORTERS!!

The following instructions are to be used with the inspection checklist. All information/equipment is required to
be on each vehicle at all times. Failure to meet these requirements at the time of the inspection will result in non-
issuance of a permit sticker for that vehicle. If at any time a permitted vehicle is inspected and does not meet these
requirements, the permit sticker and permit for that vehicle may be revoked, and penalties may be issued.

* Company Contingency Plan with emergency procedures and emergency phone numbers, as
submitted with application
* Markings on vehicle (company name and permit number on both sides and back of vehicle —

approximate size should be three inches)

* Current, legible, valid registration for each unit (tractor and trailer), note expiration date

* Communication device (mobile phone, CB radio)

* Protective clothing (chemical resistant gloves, boots & suit, respirator, eye protection, hardhat, etc.)
* 16 oz. eyewash

* First aid kit (complete)

* Adequate absorbent materials

* Shovel

* Fire Extinguisher

* Color and load capacity for specific unit

* Current cargo tanker inspection date as required by 49 CFR 180.352
* Current safety inspection sticker as required by Motor Carrier Safety Regulations, 49 CFR 396.17.
* Up-to-date payment for inspections ($100 fee per unit inspection on account, or check for $100 fee

per unit inspection made out to "General Treasurer - State of Rhode Island")

NOTE: If spill control/emergency equipment is in a sealed spill kit, a list of materials in the spill kit must be
supplied.



RHODE ISLAND DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT

‘l OFFICE OF WASTE MANAGEMENT
235 Promenade Street, Room 380

Providence, Rhode Island 02908
REMITTAL FORM 2020-2021 for SEPTAGE TRANSPORTERS

* % * % ALL APPLICANTS PLEASE NOTE PROCEDURE * * * *

All documents and check should be sent to the address listed below: The check must be made payable to
the Rhode Island General Treasurer.

RI Department of Environmental Management
Office of Management Services

235 Promenade Street

Providence, RI 02908

Please complete this page, attach it to the check or money order. This information must be provided to
coordinate your fee with the application submitted.

Applicant's Name:

Address:

City, State, Zip: , ,

Phone No.: ( ) Existing Permit Number: RI-

Contact:

TYPE OF PERMIT APPLICATION (choose 1):

O Septage Waste Vehicle Permit for fiscal year: 20

NUMBER OF DECALS REQUESTED:

Standard Decals requested @ $100 per unit =$ (total amount submitted)



OFFICE OF WASTE MANAGEMENT
235 Promenade Street, Room 380

v Providence, Rhode Island 02908

Septage Waste Transporter Inspection Form

RHODE ISLAND DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT

ONE CHECKLIST MUST BE SUBMITTED FOR EACH UNIT (TRACTOR OR TRAILER)

Applicant: Date:

RI Permit Number: RI -

Fee Submitted: Y/N Amount: Check No.:

Isthisa TRACTOR:  ~ oraTRAILER:  Reg. No.: State:
Year/Make: V.LN. No.:

(Last Five Digits)

The following items must be certified in order to obtain a sticker for each unit:

(See attached inspection instructions for specifics)

Check to Verify Compliance

___ Emergency Procedures in Vehicle

__ Markings (name & Permit #) on Vehicle

____Valid Registration(s), Exp. Date

___ Communication Device

____ Protective Clothing

_ Eye-wash (16 0z.)

___ First Aid Kiit

____ Absorbent Material DOT Safety Inspection Date:
_ Shovel (49 CFR 196.17)
____ Fire Extinguisher

In Accordance with Rhode Island General Law §23-19.1 - 18(h):

I hereby certify that I am aware that any person who knowingly makes a false, statement, representation, or
certification, in any application, record, report, plan, permit, or other document filed, maintained and used for the
purposes of program compliance under this chapter shall be deemed guilty of a felony.

SIGNATURE OF DESIGNATED COMPANY INSPECTOR NAME PRINTED DATE
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