

REQUIREMENTS/APPLICATION FOR REAL ESTATE SALESPERSONS

The following Requirements apply to Rhode Island Residents and Non-residents.

Candidates of legal age (18 years of age) applying for a Real Estate Salesperson license **must first contact Pearson VUE** at (800) 274-8922 or by visiting their website at www.pearsonvue.com, to schedule an examination. The examination must be taken before submitting an application to the Rhode Island Department of Business Regulation, Division of Commercial Licensing and Racing and Athletics, Real Estate Section.

Upon successfully passing the examination, candidates must submit the following:

- The Original Test Score Report from Pearson VUE, both pages;
- A completed <u>Real Estate Salesperson Application</u>;
- A Certificate of successful completion of 45 hours of pre-licensing education;
- A <u>Criminal History Record</u> (CHR) from the Rhode Island Department of the Attorney General's office. **Non-residents** must submit a CHR from their home state law enforcement agency, as well as one from the Rhode Island Department of the Attorney General.
- A Tax Payer Status Affidavit / Identity Verification;
- A <u>Certificate of a three (3)-hour course in Lead Poisoning/Lead Hazard Mitigation</u> (See Real Estate Pre-Licensing and Continuing Education Course List at http://www.dbr.ri.gov/documents/divisions/commlicensing/realestate/RE-CE_Course_List.pdf;
- A Certificate of Errors and Omissions Insurance;
- A <u>Certificate</u> of the three (3)-hour <u>New Agency Law</u> Course, unless it is included in curriculum of 45 hours of pre-licensing education;
- **Non-resident applicants** must provide a <u>Certificate of Licensure</u> from their home-state's licensing authority.
- **Non-Resident applicants** must provide an irrevocable <u>Power of Attorney Form</u> for service of process.

Please submit TWO CHECKS as follows:

• \$140.00, payable to the "Rhode Island General Treasurer" AND, \$25.00 payable to the "Real Estate Recovery Account."



CRIMINAL HISTORY RECORD SUBMISSION REQUIREMENTS

FOR BROKER AND SALESPERSON APPLICANTS

A Criminal History Record ("CHR") must be submitted to the Real Estate Section of the Department of Business Regulation ("DBR"), Division of Commercial Licensing with each Real Estate Application. Processing applications is contingent upon the complete disposition, or results of any charges delineated or resolved prior to application submission. See instructions below to learn how to obtain your CHR.

INSTRUCTIONS

Applying in Person: A Criminal History Record may be obtained by visiting the Bureau of Criminal Identification at the Rhode Island Department of Attorney General ("DAG"). To apply for a CHR in this manner, bring a picture-identification, showing your date of birth.

Applying by Mail: To apply by mail, send a notarized copy of a photo ID, showing your date of birth, and a signed/notarized letter, giving permission to the DAG to conduct a background investigation, along with a self-addressed stamped envelope.

Mail to: Department of the Attorney General

4 Howard Avenue

Cranston, Rhode Island, 02920

Hours of operation are 8:30 am to 4:30 pm.

The cost for a CHR, whether applying in person or by mail, is five dollars (\$5.00), and is payable by check or money order to the "BCI". Please allow time for the DAG to process and generate your request. For further questions about this process, you may contact the DAG at (401) 274-4400.

If you reside in another state, supply a CHR from your home state, as well as one from Rhode Island.



FOR OFFICE USE ONLY
LICENSE NUMBER

REAL ESTATE SALESPERSON APPLICATION

Please print or type. All incomplete applications will be returned. Please allow 7-10 days for processing.

1. Name of Applicant:		2. Date of Birth	3. Age	4. Legal resident Yes □ No □	
5. Residential Address:	City / Town		State	Zip Code	
6. Telephone Number:	7. Email Address:		8. Social Secu	rity Number:	
9. Present Occupation:					
10. Real Estate Agency Name & Address: Street / City / Town: State: Zip Code: Telephone Number:					
11. Principal Broker's Name and Rhode Island License Number:					
12. Have you ever been refused a Real Estate Broker or Salesperson license in this state or any other state? Yes No					
13. Have you ever had a Real Estate Broker or Salesperson license suspended or revoked in this state or any other state? Yes No					
14. Have you ever been convicted of, or plead guilty or nolo contendre to forgery, embezzlement, obtaining money under false pretenses, bribery, larceny, extortion, conspiracy to defraud, or any other offenses of any type which would reasonably cause the Department to question your honesty, trustworthiness, integrity, good reputation or competency? Yes No					
IF YOU ANSWERED "YES" TO QUESTIONS 12 - 14, ATTACH A FULL EXPLANATION.					
15. Occupations engaged in during	ng the past five year	rs:			

16. R.I.G.L requires recommendations of three (3 least three (3) years and are not related to the applicant reputation for honesty and trustworthiness and will granted to the applicant.	icant. They will attest that the applicant	nt bears a good
Name:(Print)	Address:	
Name:(Print)	Address:	
Name:	Address:	
Being the Principal Broker of the agency mentioned employment as a salesperson, and in my opinion, is a suitable person to be granted a Real Estate Salesperson of Agency: Address:	s competent and trustworthy, and is he person's license.	
Principal Broker's Name: (PRINT) Principal Broker's Signature:		
STATEME I, the undersigned, swear under penalty of perjury, application is true to the best of my knowledge, wit failure to make full disclosures may be deemed suffer by the Rhode Island Department of Business Regul	th the understanding that any omission ficient reason to deny licensure as a R	ns, inaccuracies or
Signature	Date	



Tax Payer Status Affidavit / Identity Verification

All persons applying or renewing any license, registration, permit or other authority (hereinafter called "licensee") to conduct a business or occupation in the state of Rhode Island are required to file all applicable tax returns and pay all taxes owed to the state prior to receiving a license as mandated by state law (RIGL 5-76) except as noted below.

In order to verify that the state is not owed taxes, licensees are required to provide their Social Security Number and Federal Tax Identification Number as appropriate. These numbers will be transmitted to the Division of Taxation to verify tax status prior to the issuance of a license. This declaration must be made prior to the issuance of a license.

Licensee Declaration				
☐ I hereby declare, under penalty of perjury, that I have filed all required state tax returns and have paid all taxes owed.				
☐ I have entered a written installment agreement to pay d Administrator.	lelinquent taxes that is satisfactory to the Tax			
☐ I am currently pursuing administrative review of taxes	owed to the state.			
☐ I am in federal bankruptcy. (Case #)			
☐ I am in state receivership. (Case #)				
☐ I have been discharged from Bankruptcy. (Case #)				
Full Name (Please Print or Type)	Social Security Number (or FEIN for Business)			
Signature	Date			



POWER OF ATTORNEY

I,	, having applied to be licensed as a non-
resident real estate salesperson in the S	tate of Rhode Island, do hereby irrevocably appoint the
Director of the Department of Business	Regulation, his successor or successors, as my lawful
attorney, upon whom all lawful process	s in any action or legal proceeding against me may be
served in like manner and with the sam	e legal force and effect as if I had been lawfully served
with said process. As such, I do hereby	y authorize said attorney to receive and accept service of
process, pursuant to the provisions of T	Citle 5, Chapter 20.5-10(d), of the General Laws of Rhode
Island, as amended.	
Signature:	Date:
Subscribed and sworn to before the unc	dersigned authority in the State of,
in the County of	, on this, day of,
20	
-	Notary Public
N	My Commission Expires: