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State of Rhode Island
Department of Business Regulation
Division of Commercial Licensing

Auto Body Section
1511 Pontiac Ave, Bldg. 69-1

Cranston, RI 02920

INITIAL CLASS A MOTOR VEHICLE BODY REPAIR 
INSTRUCTIONS AND LICENSE APPLICATION 

Applicants are strongly encouraged to apply online at: https://elicensing.ri.gov/ 

Complete the application and return with the following required attachments. 
Incomplete applications will be returned. 

• LICENSE FEE $300 per year — maximum of 3 years ($900). Check or money order
payable to “Rhode Island General Treasurer.” If you’re obtaining the optional Salvage Repair
License, an additional $300 (maximum of 3 years and $900) per year is required.

• APPLICATION FEE (ONLY IF TRANSFERRING FROM A CLASS B) $300, which
is non-refundable 

• CERTIFICATE OF INSURANCE (INSURANCE BINDER) Policy shall provide
for bodily injury and property damage “Garage Liability” for five hundred thousand
($500,000) combined single limit, and “Garage Keepers Liability” for damage to customer
property for one hundred thousand ($100,000) per occurrence.

• EVIDENCE OF FIRE SAFETY APPROVAL Letter from local Fire Department or
State Fire Marshal stating shop has passed inspection according to all local and state
laws/regulations/codes for fire, health, and safety. It must also confirm safety inspection and
approval of spray booth and refinishing area for painting.

• EVIDENCE OF ZONING APPROVAL Letter from city/town stating you comply
with all zoning laws to operate an auto body shop in that location.

• CRIMINAL HISTORY REPORT Mandatory for all owners, corporate officers, and
managers. 

• TECHNICIAN CERTIFICATION Proof of satisfactory completion of classes per Regulation
230-RICR-30-05-2.12. (Only I-CAR and ASE transcripts or P&L Certificates are
acceptable proof.)

• TAX-PAYER STATUS AFFIDAVIT
• EVIDENCE OF GOOD STANDING (FOR CORPORATIONS AND LLCs ONLY) 

Applicants may submit either a Letter of Good Standing from the R.I. Secretary of State, or a 
printout from the Secretary of State’s website proving that your corporation is not revoked by the 
Secretary of State.

• EPA HAZARDOUS WASTE GENERATORS PERMIT Application can
be found on DEM website at:
http://www.dem.ri.gov/programs/benviron/waste/pdf/epaidno.pdf

Notice to all applicants: 
• Your license number must appear on all business communications, estimates, signs, business

cards and other written documentation related to that business.
• Immediately notify the Department upon any change of information from your latest

application. Transfers of owner or business location require a new application and must be
approved in advance by the Department.

• Department now sends all correspondence by email. Please make sure your email
address is up to date.

• Inquire with your local city/town to verify if a local license is required for you to
operate.

http://www.dbr.ri.gov/
https://elicensing.ri.gov/
Jorge.Bannister
Highlight
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State of Rhode Island
Department of Business Regulation
Division of Commercial Licensing

Auto Body Section
1511 Pontiac Ave, Bldg. 69-1

Cranston, RI 02920

INITIAL CLASS A MOTOR VEHICLE REPAIR APPLICATION 
Please type.  Incomplete applications will be returned. 

BASIC INFORMATION 
Is this your first Auto Body License?    □ Yes        □ No
Do you want a Salvage Repairer License?   □ Yes        □ No

If yes, please note: $300 additional fee per year required with a maximum of three (3) years and $900. 
OWNER INFORMATION 

Name: DOB: 
Address: 
City, State, Zip: 
Email: Phone: 

BUSINESS INFORMATION 
Type of Business  

□ Sole Proprietorship   □ Partnership   □Corporation   □ LLC   □ Other
Name:   FEIN: 
DBA (If applicable): 
Address: 
City, State, Zip: 
Email: Phone: 

PARTNERS, MEMBERS, OFFICERS (IF APPLICABLE) 
Name:   DOB: 
Title: 
Address: 
City, State, Zip: 
Email: Phone: 
Name:   DOB: 
Title: 
Address: 
City, State, Zip: 
Email: Phone: 
Name:   DOB: 
Title: 
Address: 
City, State, Zip: 
Email: Phone: 
Name:   DOB: 
Title: 
Address: 
City, State, Zip: 
Email: Phone: 
Name:   DOB: 
Title: 
Address: 
City, State, Zip: 
Email: Phone: 

http://www.dbr.ri.gov/
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State of Rhode Island
Department of Business Regulation
Division of Commercial Licensing

Auto Body Section
1511 Pontiac Ave, Bldg. 69-1

Cranston, RI 02920

INITIAL CLASS A MOTOR VEHICLE REPAIR APPLICATION — CONTINUED 
Please type.  Incomplete applications will be returned. 

DESIGNEE INFORMATION 
(Person The Department can speak to regarding the business) 

Name: 
Address: 
City, State, Zip: 
Email: Phone: 

APPLICATION QUESTIONS 
Do you currently hold a Motor Vehicle Dealers License?   □ Yes       □ No 

If yes, provide License #: 
Do you currently hold an Appraiser/Adjuster License?   □ Yes       □ No 

If yes, provide License #: 
EPA Hazardous Waste Generators Permit #: 
Square Footage: 

NOTE: Licensees must perform repairs inside a fixed location with at least 4,000 SF of heated 
ground-level space 
Describe Secured Storage Area: 

EMPLOYEE LIST 
Name:   □Technician □ Shop Employee

Name:   □Technician □ Shop Employee

Name:   □Technician □ Shop Employee

Name:   □Technician □ Shop Employee

Name:   □Technician □ Shop Employee

Name:   □Technician □ Shop Employee

Name:   □Technician □ Shop Employee

Name:   □Technician □ Shop Employee

Name:   □Technician □ Shop Employee

Name:   □Technician □ Shop Employee

https://dbr.ri.gov/
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State of Rhode Island
Department of Business Regulation
Division of Commercial Licensing

Auto Body Section
1511 Pontiac Ave, Bldg. 69-1

Cranston, RI 02920

INITIAL CLASS A MOTOR VEHICLE REPAIR APPLICATION — CONTINUED 
Please type.  Incomplete applications will be returned. 

LICENSE REQUIREMENTS 
Certification for the repair and refinishing of aluminum, high-strength steel, and other metal 
or alloy, by at least one automobile manufacturer or third-party administrator. (proof must be 
attached) 

Name of manufacturer or third-party administrator: 
A written lifetime warranty on repairs that is valid against workmanship defects is required. 
(Proof must be attached) 
A system for documenting complaints is required. 
(Proof must be attached) 
Do you have electrical and /or hydraulic pulling equipment?   □ Yes       □ No 

If yes, provide model: 
Do you have current dimensional guides appropriate to vehicle being repaired?   □ Yes    □ No 

If yes, provide model: 
Do you have a four (4)-point clamping system to secure vehicle while making structural 
repairs?   □ Yes       □ No  

If yes, provide model: 
Do you have equipment/gauges mechanical or electronic capable of three-dimensional 
measurements?   □ Yes       □ No  

If yes, provide model: 
Do you have appropriate welding equipment to meet manufacturer’s requirements? 
□ Yes □ No

If yes, provide model: 
Do you have a paint system or access to a paint system capable of producing original 
equipment manufacturer’s requirements?   □ Yes       □ No  

If yes, provide model: 
Do you have a spray Booth that conforms to the requirements of the RI State Fire Marshall? 
□ Yes       □ No

If yes, provide model: 
Do you have HVLP Spray guns that meet current EPA requirements?   □ Yes   □ No 

If yes, provide model: 
Do you have a refinishing area that complies with safety and environmental regulations? 
□ Yes       □ No

Do you have Parking in compliance with local laws and regulations to perform the repair 
work?   □ Yes       □ No  

https://dbr.ri.gov/
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State of Rhode Island
Department of Business Regulation
Division of Commercial Licensing

Auto Body Section
1511 Pontiac Ave, Bldg. 69-1

Cranston, RI 02920

INITIAL CLASS A MOTOR VEHICLE REPAIR APPLICATION — CONTINUED 
Please type.  Incomplete applications will be returned. 

AFFIDAVIT(S) & SIGNATURE 
Tax Payer Status Affidavit 
Pursuant to R.I. Gen. Laws, Chapter 5-79, as amended, any person applying for or renewing any license, permit, or other 
authority to conduct a business or occupation within Rhode Island must have filed all required state tax returns and paid all 
taxes due to the state or must have entered into a written agreement to pay delinquent state taxes that is satisfactory to the 
Tax Administrator. 

Have you filed all required Rhode Island State tax returns, and have you paid all taxes owed?        Yes        No 

Affidavit of Application 
I swear, under penalty of perjury that the information provided in connection with this application is true to the best of my 
knowledge, with the understanding that any omissions, inaccuracies or failure to make full disclosures may be deemed 
sufficient reason to deny licensure by the Rhode Island Department of Business Regulation. 

 _____________________________________________________        _____________________________________________________ 
   Signature of Applicant   Date of Signature (MM/DD/YY) 

OFFICE USE ONLY 
Date 

Date application received: 
Check #   Amount: 
Technician Certifications received: 
BCI(s) received: 
Insurance Binder received: 
Fire Safety Certificate received: 
Evidence of Zoning Approval received: 
Certificate of Good Standing (if applicable) received: 
EPA Number received: 

http://www.dbr.ri.gov/
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